Go To Content

Ministry of Economic Affairs,R.O.C.

About MOEA


The Executive Yuan establishes the National Economic Council and vests it with the duties of managing national economic construction and development planning, examination, supervision and guidance.
As part of a reorganization of the Executive Yuan, the Ministry of Industry and Commerce and Ministry of Agriculture and Mines were merged to create the Ministry of Basic Industries. Under this new ministry were placed the Department of Agriculture, Department of Industry, Department of Commerce, Mines Department, Department of Fisheries and Animal Husbandry, Department of Labor, and the Forestry and Land Reclamation Office.
The National Economic Council assumes authority for water conservency affairs, originally vested in the Ministry of the Interior.
The Ministry of Basic Industries is reorganized as the Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA).
Agencies and units in charge of water conservancy functions at the National Construction Commission and National Economic Council, the 3rd and 4th Sections of the Military Affairs Commission, and the coordination committes in charge of industry, mines and agriculture are combined to form the MOEA.
According to the Organic Law of the MOEA , the Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Ministry Agriculture and Forests, Ministry of Water Conservancy, and Energy Commission were merged and streamlined. The MOEA was placed in overall charge of affairs pertaining to national economic administration and development. Within the ministry, several departments were established, including the Department of Industry, Department of Mining, Department of Commerce, General Affairs Department, Accounting Department , Statistics Department, and Personnel Department, as well as the Agriculture and Forest Administration, Water Resources Agency and National Resources Commission and other subsidiary bodies.
The Energy Commission is established; and some of the commercial affairs, such as securities management, and accounting functions of the MOEA are placed under the Ministry of Finance.
The International Cooperation Department, Department of Investment Services, Department of Industrial Technology, and Small and Medium Enterprise Administration (SMEA) are established; and the Agricultural Administration and Department of Industry are converted into the Agricultural Bureau and Industrial Development Bureau.
Water Conservancy Department and Water Resources Unified Planning Committee are combined to create the Water Resources Bureau.
The National Bureau of Standards and Bureau of Commodity Inspection were reorganized as the Intellectual Property Office and Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection in order to carry out intellectual property protection policy and unify standards and inspection functions.
In conjunction with the streamlining of the Taiwan Provincial Government, the functions of provincial government departments in charge of construction, material resources, and water conservancy, as well as the Taipei Water Resource Specific Committee, and Bureau of Mines were merged under the MOEA. The MOEA also established a Second Office and Central Taiwan Division.
The Water Conservancy Agency, Bureau of Water Resources and Taipei Water Resource Specific Committee are merged to form the Water Resources Agency.
The Energy Commission is reorganized as the Bureau of Energy to reflect the agency's evolving functions.